My First Couple Days in Milan

Good day (whatever time zone you are in)! Thank you for reading my blog.

It is currently almost midnight here on Tuesday, August 29, 2017. I know a lot of people have wanted me to stay in contact with them while I’m traveling, so I thought I could start this blog. This post is going to be rather short (as I have a thirty minute walk to campus in the morning for Orientation).

My first day in Milan (Monday, August 28th) I arrived around noon. I was not able to get into my apartment until today, so I stayed at a hotel. As soon as I got in my room, I went straight to sleep and slept throughout the whole day and night. That definitely helped get rid of the jet leg. This morning I was so ready to get to my apartment, meet my roommates, and see the city. My apartment is very beautiful, but very old. It does not have air conditioning (ergo, I am very ready for winter), but it has a cute elevator just like the one in the Lizzie McGuire Movie. My apartment has two bedrooms, a living room, a kitchen, a bathroom, and a terrace. I have three roommates (2 in each bedroom). Amanda, whom I share a room with, is from Tennessee. She and I get along really well, and we even have the same birthday! We will both be celebrating our 21st birthdays on November 13th! Becca is from Wisconsin and her boyfriend is also studying abroad at UCSC. April is from New Zealand and we are both studying fashion. We are all very excited for these next four months.

Amanda and I went to the grocery store together earlier. Not only do they charge for plastic bags, but we underestimated how much the two of us could carry. We struggled getting everything back to our apartment. I was carrying a case of water and , just a few doors down from the apartment door, the packing ripped and water bottles fell out. ¬†However, we eventually made it up the apartment, and drank some water right after. We all just stayed in tonight and got to know one another and watched a movie. It was really nice to just hangout with an awesome group of women. Though I haven’t done anything too exciting yet, I am excited to keep y’all updated with my adventures so stay tuned for more!

Ciao,

Hannah

Leave a Reply

